34. Bhukti Pradhána

Bhukti means a particular administrative area akin to a district in India or a county in Britain. The Ánanda Márga Pracáraka Saḿgha (AMPS) secretary of such a bhukti will be known as a bhukti pradhána. [Pradhána means “head” or “principal person”.]

Election of Bhukti Pradhána:

The sadvipras (those who are well-established in Sixteen Points(1)) of a bhukti must elect one bhukti pradhána from among themselves. The bhukti pradhána may or may not be an ácárya/á or a táttvika, but must be an educated family person. They will hold this post for three years, after which a fresh election will be held.

The Bhukti Committee

The Bhukti General Committee will be constituted of representatives elected by the sadvipras from among themselves. It will consist of a maximum of twenty-five and a minimum of fifteen members. With the consent of 80 per cent of the members, the number of members may be raised above twenty-five.

The bhukti pradhána will be the chairperson of the Bhukti General Committee. He/she will also form a Bhukti Executive Committee consisting of his/her chosen members. The number of members of the Bhukti Executive Committee will be determined at the discretion of the bhukti pradhána. A maximum of three members of the Bhukti Executive Committee may be sadvipras who are not members of the Bhukti General Committee; the rest must be members of the Bhukti General Committee.

Duties and Responsibilities of Bhukti Pradhána

In general, the bhukti pradhána is responsible for all items of the ISMUB Department - inspection, seminars, movements, utilization and boards - at the district level. They must also maintain all records of birth, játakarma, marriage, social functions, náráyańa sevá, divorce, death, shráddha and diikśádána.

In addition, the bhukti pradhána should settle petty civil and criminal disputes, authorizing both the prosecution and defence to engage their pleaders. (Any sadvipra well versed in Caryácarya may be a pleader for the purpose.)

They are to maintain the sanctity of all jágrtis, dhvajas [flags], pratiikas and pratikrtis [photos of Márga Guru] with the help of the jágrti secretary and others.

They must maintain the social solidarity of the bhukti by never allowing the individual interest of any person to go against the collective interest, and they may take disciplinary steps against a person (in consultation with their Bhukti Executive Committee) for deviating from the path of Sixteen Points.

They must help with cash, kind, labour and other physical and intellectual power in materializing the different public welfare plans and programmes of Ananda Marga. The bhukti pradhána will maintain proper accounts of all income and expenditure of his/her bhukti.

The purodhá pramukha may increase or decrease the duties or responsibilities of the bhukti pradhána whenever so required with or without consultation of the Central Purodhá Board.

1980, Kolkata

35. Samájamitram, Smártta, Jiivamitram and Dharmamitram

The bhukti pradhána of any particular sector within whose jurisdiction there is the largest number of A-class Ánanda Márga Pracáraka Saḿgha (AMPS) committees (see “Formation of Boards”), will be known as the samájamitram [friend of society] of that sector for that particular half-year (1st January to Vaeshákhii Púrńimá / Vaeshákhii Púrńimá to 1st January). They (samájamitrams) will be allowed to use the word samájamitram as a prefix to their names until another person of the same sector acquires this respectable rank. A bhukti pradhána retaining the status of samájamitram continuously for two years (four half-years) can permanently prefix the title to his/her name (but this will not be hereditary). A permanent samájamitram can no longer hold the post of bhukti pradhána.

If a bhukti pradhána is an ácárya/á, he/she will use the word smártta [“one who has proved one’s social worthiness”] and not samájamitram.

Of the nine samájamitrams, the one having the largest number of A-class committees in the world will be known as jiivamitram [friend of living beings]. A bhukti pradhána retaining the status of jiivamitram continuously for two years (four half-years) will permanently prefix the title to his/her name (but this will not be hereditary). A permanent jiivamitram can no longer hold the post of bhukti pradhána.

If a bhukti pradhána is a grhii [householder] ácárya/á, he or she will use the word dharmamitram and not jiivamitram.

If the samájamitram, smártta, jiivamitram and dharmamitram are males, it is advisable that they do not shave, although this is not compulsory.

The samájamitram and jiivamitram will deserve the same respect in the society as an ácárya/á. For this reason, even if it may seem necessary, no one will be entitled to take any social disciplinary action against them except a purodhá.

1980, Kolkata

36. Formation of Boards

All the departments and sections of Ánanda Márga Pracáraka Saḿgha (AMPS) have boards from central level to village level to materialize their respective programmes. The total number of boards at the village level is the same as at central level.

The minimum number of members on a board will be three, and the maximum, seven. The members may or may not be highly educated, but must have a developed sense of responsibility. A person cannot be a member of more than one board.

A-Class and B-Class Committees

Committees at the various levels which have formed boards corresponding to all the departments and sections of AMPS will be declared A-class committees. Committees which have formed less than the total number of boards will be declared B-class committees.

It will be the duty of the structural workers concerned, and the ISMUB Secretary, to elevate the status of B-class committees to that of A-class committees with the help of all sadvipras.

1980, Kolkata